UPR Agenda

In this section, you will find all organisational documents on the UPR and the HRC sessions.

UPR cycle calendars

UPR Cycle EN

Under the UPR, the human rights situation of all UN Member States is reviewed every 4.5 years. Each 4.5-year period is called a UPR cycle. This means that it takes 4.5 years to review all UN Member States. Calendars also include tentative or final deadlines to submit national reports. 

For tentative deadlines to submit other stakeholders' reports, refer to the OHCHR page here

UPR session timetables

There are three UPR Working Group sessions per year: in January/February, in April/May and in October/November. During each session, fourteen countries are reviewed. A UPR WG session lasts two weeks.


Timetable for UPR WG Sessions Dates Troika members
Timetable for UPR WG 45

22 January 2024 - 02 February 2024

Troikas for UPR WG 45
Timetable for UPR WG 46

29 April 2024 - 10 May 2024

Troikas for UPR WG 46 
Timetable for UPR WG 47 04 November 2024 - 15 November 2024 Troikas for UPR WG 47 

HRC session programmes

The Human Rights Council holds three regular sessions per year. They take place in March (4 weeks), June (3 weeks) and September (3 weeks). Item 6 of the HRC regular sessions is dedicated to the UPR. It is under this Item that the HRC proceeds to the Adoption of UPR outcomes related to  countries which were previously under review.  Item 6 also provides for a general debate on the UPR among States and other stakeholders. 


Programme of Work Dates of the HRC session             UPR Adoptions 
Programme of Work for the 55th session (tbc)

26 February 2024 to 05 April 2024

UPR WG 44: Turkmenistan, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Colombia, Uzbekistan, Tuvalu, Germany, Djibouti, Canada, Bangladesh, the Russian Federation, Azerbaijan, Cameroon and Cuba.
Programme of Work for the 56rd session (tbc) 18 June 2024 to 12 July 2024 UPR WG 45: Saudi Arabia, Senegal, China, Nigeria, Mauritius, Mexico, Jordan, Malaysia, Central African Republic, Monaco, Belize, Chad, Republic of the Congo and Malta.
Programme of Work for the 57th session (tbc)

09 September 2024 to 09 October 2024

UPR WG 46: Afghanistan, Cambodia, Chile, Comoros, (the) Cyprus, Dominica, Eritrea, Republic of North Macedonia, New Zealand, Slovakia, Uruguay, Vanuatu and Yemen.